Changing of the Guard at Awards Night

The annual Dingos Awards Night was held this past Saturday in downtown Toronto at Le Marche in Brookfield Place.  As with all Awards Nights, it was a time to reflect on the season gone by and to honour those players who led the club, both on and off the field.

With 2016 being somewhat of a transitional year for the club - a number of veteran players stepped back while new blood led the club - it was expected that the evening would feature some first-time winners.  And the evening did not disappoint.  Canadian Michael Bocian held off veterans James Duggan and Dave Wells in a tense vote count to claim his first Stewart award, while Aussie Rob McNaughton took home his first Stewart Award as well.  Joining them in winning awards for the first time were Daniel Gunn, Greg Gilbert, and Justin Davis.

The evening also featured the induction of a new Life Member of the Toronto Dingos - Jamie Prescott who was a key Canadian both on and off the field, serving on the Executive for five years before retiring in 2006.

Huge thanks go out to Dave Wells for organizing the evening, Spider Wells for serving as MC and capably guiding the lads through the vote count, and for Le Marche for their incredible treatment of the 40+ Dingo players, wives, girlfriends, and alumni.  A fantastic evening.

Full list of Awards winners are below.

Photos of the night can be found HERE.

C'arn the Dingos!






COACH'S AWARD - Daniel Gunn

ROOKIE OF THE YEAR - Thomas Santibanez-Espinoza

STEWART AWARD - Michael Bocian (Can) and Rob McNaughton (Aus)

RUNNER'S UP BEST & FAIREST - James Duggan (Can) and Justin Davis (Aus)

GAME MILESTONES - Everett Wells (100), James Duggan (100), Jake Steinberg (150), Chris Buczkowski (200)

LIFE MEMBERSHIP - Jamie Prescott


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


Major Sponsors

AFLO Standings

2018 Division 1