Pioneers select under-18s squad

THE Bendigo and Goulburn Murray regions are well represented on the Bendigo Pioneers under-18s playing list for next year’s AFL Victoria TAC Cup action.

A squad of 35 includes 12 from Goulburn Murray clubs and nine from the Bendigo Football Netball League.

Sunraysia, Central Murray and North Central are represented by six, five and three young stars respectively.

Almost a third of the squad were bottom-age players in 2015.

In what will be his second season as coach, Brett Henderson said the challenge for every player was to improve fitness, skills and strength.

“We have a great mix of those who have played TAC Cup and those ready for the next step,” Henderson said.

“As last season went on we promoted a few players from the under-16s squad to TAC Cup level.

“As a coaching panel we were really pleased with what the under-16s were able to do.

“They know what to expect and I’m sure will continue to develop and be key players.

“There is a lot of talent in this group, but workrate will be so crucial.

“For every player named on the list it’s now about doing everything they can to be ready for pre-season and then next year’s matches.

“It’s important not to just be satisfied with being named on the list, but working harder than you have previously to be an even better player.”

The build-up to a new season included a selection trial for the rookie squad on October 1 at Epsom-Huntly Recreation Reserve.

Henderson said a group of 45 had responded to invites to the rookie try-outs.

“Players selected in the rookie squad are a chance to be promoted to the main list at any time.

“We really want hot competition for places in our squads and to play in TAC Cup matches.

“Teams will be 16 a side and the match is likely to be six terms,” Henderson said of the trials format.

The Bendigo Pioneers induction weekend is November 7-8 at Latrobe University Bendigo.

Pre-season for the club’s under-18s squad starts November 13 at Epsom-Huntly Reserve.

Bendigo Pioneers under-18s list for 2016

Jordan Bath, Donald

Braydon Worsnop, Moama

Braidon Blake, Sandhurst

Cooper Jones, Sandhurst

Mitchell Kemp, Echuca

Amos Farrell, Echuca

Kane Farrell, Eaglehawk

Inji Fyfe, Mildura

Cade Mueller, Kyabram

Matthew Higgs, Eaglehawk

Lewin Davis, Mildura

Jayden White, Broken Hill/South Bendigo

Brent Daniels, Nyah

Paddy Dow, Swan Hill

Jacob Bruns, Echuca

Joe Atley, Rochester

Lochie O’Brien, Mildura

Darby Henderson, Echuca

Brad Whitford, Kyabram

Braydan Torpey, South Bendigo

Hugh Schaeche, Strathfieldsaye

Laine Fitzgerald, Balranald

Jack Thomas, Koondrook

Cooper Barber, Echuca

Riley Saunders, Golden Square

Isaac Johnson, Echuca

Coby McCarthy, Kyabram

Elliot Stewart, Echuca

Lachie Wallace, Strathfieldsaye

Jarrod Brander, Wentworth

Tom Campbell, Wedderburn

Kale Kirby, Tyntynder

Kobe Mutch, Wentworth

Tyler May, Donald

Angus Schumacher, Strathfieldsaye



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.