Pioneer six in Vic Country squad

SIX Bendigo Pioneer players are in the Victoria Country under-18 squad ahead of the 2015 National Championships that begin this weekend.

Among the Victoria Country squad of 54 are Bendigo Pioneer players Thomas Cole, Aidyn Johnson, Lachie Tardrew, Bailey Edwards, Jayden Burke and Joseph Atley.

"We've got some young players who are really developing their game and to have six players in that squad is a reflection of us becoming more competitive," Pioneers coach Brett Henderson said.

"All those players who have been selected are in good form and it's good to see them get rewarded."

Johnson and Cole were both part of last year's Victoria Country under-18 squad that included Pioneers' team-mates Jaden McGrath and Billy Evans, who are both now at the Brisbane Lions.

Also in the squad is Jamieson Sheahan, originally from Strathfieldsaye and now at the Geelong Falcons.

Victoria Country begins its Under-18 National Championships campaign this Sunday against its city counterparts, Victoria Metro, at Geelong's Simonds Stadium at 11am.

• Victoria Country fixture:

May 24 - v Victoria Country at Simonds Stadim.

May 31 - v Western Australia at Medibank Stadium.

June 7 - v Victoria Metro at Simonds Stadium.

June 14 - v South Australia at AAMI Stadium.

June 26 - v South Australia at Simonds Stadium.

July 2 - v Western Australia at Simonds Stadium.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.