Bendigo Pioneers draw players from many clubs

THERE are 29 clubs represented on the Bendigo Pioneers Football Club's under-18s list for this year's TAC Cup competition.

The wide scope of the Pioneers region is reflected in players being drawn from as far afield as Manangatang, Wandella, Gol Gol, Wentworth, Moama, Cohuna and Red Cliffs.

West Broken Hill's Jayden White has made the big move to Bendigo.

Another link to Broken Hill is through Kobe Mutch who spent his early years in the town before moving to Gol Gol.

Seven of the Bendigo Football Netball Clubs are represented on the list.

In his first pre-season as Pioneers coach, Brett Henderson said it was a gruelling selection process.

"We have a great mix of second-year, first-year, and some under-19 players," Henderson said.

"I am confident we have a great group that is working hard to improve skills as well as being fitter and stronger."

Henderson said there were a lot of challenges for the players and coaches.

"A lot of our players have been key midfielder, onballers, forwards or defenders at their clubs.

"Some have played trial matches in roles they are not used to and have done really well.

"The key for us is having flexibility and developing our players."

The lead-up included last weekend's training camp at Epsom-Huntly Reserve.

Hawthorn triple premiership player and now Williamstown senior coach Andy Collins led Saturday afternoon's on-field workout.

Essendon premiership player and key forward Scott Lucas ran a drill on Friday night.

"The training and then talks by Scott and Andy were superb.

"Training intensity went up across the weekend and that's the level we should aspire to be at in every session," said Henderson.

The Pioneers coaching panel includes Peter Gibbs (defence); Luke Moodie (midfield); Mark Snell (forwards).

Development coach Shane Hamilton, and strength-conditioning coach Jake Ford play key roles.

The under-16s squad is coached by Dean Sheldrick and assisted by Bill Higgs.

Bendigo Pioneers under-18 list:

Joseph Atley, Rochester.

Sam Simmons, Mildura.

Bailey Edwards, Maryborough.

Lachie Tardrew, Kennington-Sandhurst.

Harrison Keely, Cohuna Kangas.

Thomas Cole, Sandhurst.

Billy Mahony,  Maryborough.

Braidon Blake, Castlemaine.

Lachlan Schultz, Moama.

Mathew Chisari, South Mildura.

Jayden Fox, Imperials.

Aidyn Johnson, Echuca/Scotch College.

John Harvey, Sandhurst Marist.

Gavin Cathie, Wandella.

Jamarrah Firebrace,  Moama.

Kobe Mutch, Gol Gol.

Will Lowe, Colbinabbin.

Jayden Burke, Golden Square.

Jonty Marciano, Red Cliffs.

Kyle Mueller, Kyabram.

Mitchell Trait,  Campbells Creek.

Cooper Jones, Sandhurst Marist.

Matthew Higgs, Eaglehawk.

Lachlan Ryan, South Mildura.

Jake Healy, Wentworth.

Josh Ryan, South Mildura.

Richard Tonizzo, Echuca.

Jacob Bruns, Echuca.

Liam Collins, Kangaroo Flat.

Liam McGlashan, Red Cliffs.

Jay Skate, Koondrook-Barham.

Marty Hore, Leitchville-Gunbower.

Sam Harper, Golden Square.

Dylan Hanley, Eaglehawk.

Jesse Muscatello, South Mildura.

Oscar Maddern, Eaglehawk.

Riley Hogan,  Strathfieldsaye.

Issac Miller, Golden Square.

Jordan Bath, Donald.

Elliot Stewart, Echuca.

Brayden Worsnop, Echuca.

Rhys Free, Cohuna Kangas.

Nick Cottrell, Wentworth.

Jack Lawton, Eaglehawk.

Mitchell Treacy, Wandella.

Xavia Elford, Manangatang.

Jayden White, West Broken Hill.

Sonny Egan,  Kerang.

Lachlan Atherton, Eaglehawk. 


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.