NOR-West Jets captain Owen Butcher fulfilled a long-held dream when he took out the club’s prestigious 2014 SHIPLEY MEDAL for the first time last night.

Butcher was emotional as he accepted the medal following a thrilling count at Panthers North Richmond, in which he polled 73 votes to edge out AFL Sydney’s Division 3 McFarlane Medallist David Clinch by just two votes.

It was a tight vote count all night long with the top three players all on 51 votes after round 14 before Butcher and Clinch went toe to toe in the last four rounds, with Warwick Smith holding onto third place with 52 votes.

The 2014 PAUL HIBBINS MEDAL for the Division 5 reserves best and fairest also went to a first time winner in Zane Priest, who polled 54 votes to finish five clear of Hawkesbury junior Liam Veigel, who enjoyed his first year back home in the Hawkesbury after playing under-18s at the Riff.

Alex Lorenzelli topped off a great first year of football to finish third on 37 votes.

Another emotional moment was the Nick Edwards Memorial Rookie of the Year award, named in honour of hugely talented club junior Nick Edwards, who passed away tragically last year.

The award was presented by Nick’s parents Steve and Liz to his younger brother Josh, who is shaping a star of the club for a long time into the future.

SHIPLEY MEDAL –1st Grade Best & Fairest: Owen Butcher

Runner Up: David Clinch

Most Consistent: Warwick Smith

PAUL HIBBINS MEDAL – 2ND Grade Best & Fairest: Zane Priest

Runner Up: Liam Veigel

Most Consistent: Alex Lorenzelli

Other winners on the night were:


Nick Edwards Memorial – Rookie of the Year: Josh Edwards

Div 3 Best Player in the Finals: Ryan Johnston & Zack Coombs

Div 3 Leading Goalkicker: Peter Kyle

Div 3 Most Improved: Matthew Schwager

Div 3 Coaches Award: Michael Gray

Div 3 Players’ Player: David Clinch & Louis Butler

Div 5 Best Player in the Finals: Zane Priest

Div 5 Leading Goalkicker: Scott Braid

Div 5 Most Improved: Musa Bakari

Div 5 Coaches Award: Owen Hickman & Blake Heggie

Div 5 Players’ Player: Zack Coombs


President’s Award: Geana Smith

Clubman Award: Daniel Harding

Life Members’ Clubman Award: Peter Martinoli

Golden Fist: Matthew Brophy

S.F.O.T.Y.: Dale Wellington

150 Games: Stephen Chase

100 Games: Daniel Guthridge & Matthew Brophy

50 Games: David Clinch, Ethon Coombs, Seb Goldrick, James Moynihan & Harry Stever

Life Membership: Matthew Brophy, Jesse Pinder, Scott Braid, Graeme McCumiskey & Rod Bayne

Congratulations to all the winners and the new life members and a big thanks to Geana Smith, Chris Kyle, Leigh Sharpe, Nichole Kyle and Karen Leonard for making the night a great success.

Thank you to Andrew & Penny at Rocket Events for sponsoring the event and, of course, all our loyal sponsors – R.G. McGee’s Hotel, We Are Loans, Mr Taxman, Jubilee Stationery World, Bakers Delight Richmond Mall, Handier Andy & Secure Onsite Protection.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.

Ladder - Sidebar

AFL Sydney Men's Division Two 2021

Ladder - Sidebar

AFL Sydney Men's Division Three 2021


Who will win the Premiership?

Photo Gallery