2008 Coburg Football Club Best & Fairest Results


1ST Greg Tivendale

2nd Jarrod Silvester

3rd Paul Shelton


1st Steven Foster

2nd Ben Clifton

3rd Glen Carrick

Best First Year Player – Brad Nimmo Award: JAMES KEOGH
Voted by the Coaches, the Best First Year player must be in his first season of football with the Coburg Football Club to be eligible to win. The Best First Year player award is named after Coburg Legend Brad Nimmo, who was named Captain playing at Centre Half Back in the Coburg Team of the Century. Brad played 154 games for Coburg & captained the club from 1987-91. Brad was premiership Captain in 88-89 and is one of only two living past players to have played in three premierships,1979, 88 and 89.

Achievement Award – Vin Taranto Award: JAMES KEOGH
The Vince Taranto Achievement Award is awarded to the player who through hard work and dedication his achievements were beyond the expectations of the coaching panel. Vince Taranto played 208 games for Coburg (2nd highest games played) and is a back to back premiership player for Coburg in '88-'89.

Most Courageous – Geoff Angwin Memorial Award: NICK CARNELL
As the name suggests the Most Courageous award is awarded to the player who consistently demonstrates unquestionable courage on the football field. This award is named after the late Geoff Angwin, who in the words of Brad Nimmo," only knew how to play one way, with courage and unquestioned persistency". Geoff Angwin played 76 games for Coburg between 87- 92 and  Premiership player in 88-89.

Most Improved Player: NICK LIDDLE
This award is presented to the player who over the season has demonstrated to the coaches the work ethic and commitment required to succeed. The recipient of this award through their actions has demonstrated a high level of improvement in their game to a point where they have become of key part of the future of the team.

Best Clubperson – Graeme Douglas Award: ALAN WALSH
This award is presented to the person who has demonstrated a tireless dedication and commitment to the ongoing success of the Coburg Football Club on and off the field. All members of the playing group, general committee, volunteers and board are eligible to for this award. Voted by the coaches, committee and board, the award is named after Graham Douglas who in his lifelong association with Coburg has filled most positions and epitomized the values of this award. Graham is a past President of Coburg, Coburg Life Member and Life Member of the VFA/VFL.

Trainers Award: JASON MORGAN
Nominated by the trainers, this award is presented to the player who has shown dedication and professionalism in his preparation during training and on match days. The trainers acknowledge the players attitude and ability to communicate appropriately with staff and his appreciation of treatment and advice given by the trainers and medical team.

Match Committee Award
This is awarded to the player who, in the eyes of the Coaching Staff has demonstrated a high capacity to work hard on their game, has consistently trained and played at a professional level, has proven themselves to be a team player at all times, and in spite of adversity, has never waivered in their commitment to the club and their goal of playing the best football they can.

Lloyd Moss Award: GRAEME DOUGLAS
In 2003 the Coburg Football Club lost one of its favourite sons, Lloyd Moss, a past Vice President, Life Member and a man who was unwaivering in his dedication to the Coburg Football Club. In order to recogonise those who, in the same vein as Lloyd, have tirelessly volunteered their time and contributed significantly toward the ongoing survival of the Club, we dedicate an award in Lloyd's honour. The recipient of the award must have shown outstanding voluntary commitment to the Coburg Football Club during the current year or over a period of time. The award is voted upon at the AGM by the Committee and Members of the Club. Although the Committee will call for nominations once a year, the award will only be given if the nominee fulfils the criteria.

Jake King Award: ALEX RANCE


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2014 Peter Jackson VFL


2014 AFL Victoria Development League