
FORTY MYTHS OF SOFTBALL RULES  

  

(ASA Rules) 

1. The hands are considered part of the bat. If a batter is hit with a pitch on 
the hands, it is simply a dead ball and the batter is awarded first 
base.  Remember that anytime a batter is hit, it is ALWAYS a dead ball.  If 
the batter is swinging and the ball contacts her hands first, we have a 
DEAD BALL/ STRIKE.  If the ball contacts the batter in the strike 
zone…same result – if it is the third strike in either of these cases – the 
batter is out.  See ASA 7-4-G trough I, and 8-1-F 

2.  The batter-runner must turn to her right after over-running first 
base.  The runner is protected back to first base regardless of which way 
they turn as long as they don’t make an attempt or feint towards second 
base (umpire judgement).  Merely turning to the left, and/or being in fair 
territory, does NOT put the runner in jeopardy of being tagged out unless 
they make an attempt to advance to 2nd.  See ASA 8-7-H and 8-8-I.  Also 
ASA POE#32 

3.  If the batter breaks her wrists when swinging, it's a strike.   The umpire’s 
first priority on this play is (a) was the pitch in the strike zone…if so, it is 
merely a strike.  If not, the umpire must then judge did the batter attempt to 
hit the ball (did she offer at it).  If in the umpire’s judgement, she offered, 
then the umpire should rule a strike.  Coaches, remember that sometimes 
catchers stand up and block our view, if we don’t see a swing and the ball 
is out of the strike zone…we are calling a ball.  If asked by the catcher or 
pitcher, most umpires will check with their field partner.  If I was blocked 
and not sure…I will usually ask my partner without an appeal.  See ASA 
POE#9 and ASA Umpire Manual – Check Swing Situation Page 206. 

4.  If a batted ball hits the plate first it's a foul ball.  Home plate is in fair 
territory and a ball that first hits the plate it is fair/foul based upon where it 
settles or is first touched…not by where it first hit the ground.  See ASA 
Definitions – Fair Ball/Fair Territory/Foul Ball in Rule 1. 

5. The batter cannot be called out for interference if she is in the batter's 
box.    A batter is safest from being called for interference by staying in the 
batters box and doing nothing out of the ordinary (or intentionally interfering 
with a throw by the catcher) UNLESS there is a play at the plate.  When 
there is a play at the plate the batter must vacate any space necessary for 
the fielders to make a play.  See ASA POE #28-B. 
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6. The ball is dead on a foul-tip.   The term foul tip is often used incorrectly 
to denote any pitched ball that is hit sharply off the batter’s bat in foul 
territory.  The definition of a foul tip is a ball that is hit and goes “sharp and 
direct” from the bat to the catcher’s glove and is caught in flight.  There are 
some intricacies that I will not go into here, but a true foul tip remains alive 
and runners are free to advance at their own risk.  If the foul tip is strike 
three, the batter is out and the ball remains alive.  See ASA Rule 1 
Definitions – Foul Tip and Rule 7-4-D. 

7. The batter may not switch batter's boxes after two strikes.   The batter 
may switch at any time in the count as long as she does not switch sides 
once the pitcher is on the rubber taking her signs.  See ASA 7-3-D 

8. The batter who batted out of order is the person declared out.   The 
batter who should have been at bat is the person declared 
out.  Example:  Able, Baker, Charlie due up.  Baker bats in the place of 
Able and gets a base hit.  Charlie then comes to the plate.  The defensive 
manager calls time and points out to the PU (plate umpire) that Baker 
batted out of turn before the next batter receives a pitch.  The PU will then 
declare Able out, remove Baker from the bases and it is now Baker’s time 
at bat again. Once Charlie receives a pitch (legal or illegal) Baker’s time at 
bat is now legitimized, making Charlie the correct batter.   Able will now 
have to wait until her next time to get to bat again.  This one can get very 
complicated when you have multiple batters go out of order.  See ASA 7-2-
A through E. 

9. The batter may not overrun first base when she gets a base-on-
balls.  The batter may overrun first but may be in jeopardy to be put out by 
either a tag by the first baseman if she makes an attempt to advance to 2nd 
base after she has passed 1st or if she is guilty by the “Lookback rule” 
Please read POE #29.  This is a very misunderstood rule.  Here is a very 
basic breakdown of the rule. The runner may continue to run the bases 
while the pitcher has the ball in the circle (even though the pitcher may not 
be making a play) and she can stop ONCE to find the ball........once she 
has stopped, she must IMMEDIATELY decide to either (1) advance or (2) 
return. The only caveat about the stop made by the runner is that once they 
have stopped ON a base.......they may not continue.....they are pretty much 
tied to the base.  If she jukes at all during this stop......she is out. If she 
lingers too long during the stop.....she is out.  Look also in ASA 8-8-H and 
8-8-T. 

10. The batter is out if she starts for the dugout before going to first after a 
dropped third strike.  In ASA a batter is only declared out when leaving the 
baseline to avoid a tag or if they have entered their team area 
(dugout).  Simply not advancing to first base does not make the batter 



out.  Example: Batter swings for 3rd strike with nobody on base and the 
catcher drops the ball.  Batter gets about ½ way toward her dugout and 
realizing that it was a “not caught third strike” situation runs directly to 1st 
base before she is tagged by the catcher or F2 throws to F3 for the 
out.  This is LEGAL…the batter would not be declared out by the umpire 
until she entered her “team area”.   See ASA 8-2-D 
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11. This myth has changed for 2009: The definition of a bunt attempt has 
changed, and now holding the bat in the strike zone is considered a bunt 
attempt. The batter is now requiring to withdrawn the bat in order to take a 
pitch. 
Rationale: The new definition will make the bunt attempt easier for an 
umpire to determine and 
creates a better balance between offense and defense. 

12. The batter is out if a bunted ball hits the ground and bounces back up 
and hits the bat while the batter is holding the bat.  A batter who is hit by 
their own batted ball while still in the batters box is considered to be a foul 
ball.........if the ball bounces up and hits the bat (while the batter is still in 
the batters box) the result is the same. 

13.  The batter is out if her foot touches the plate.   NOT a myth in 
Softball.  If the batter contacts the ball (either fair or foul) while one foot is 
wholly outside the lines of the batters box or is in contact with home 
plate…..the batter is out.  ASA 7-6-(D-F) 

14.  The batter-runner is always out if she runs outside the running lane 
after a bunted ball.   The batter-runner is only out if in the judgement of the 
umpire, she interfered with the fielder taking the throw at first base.  If the 
pitcher or catcher makes a horrible throw and the BR is outside the lane, it 
will not likely be called interference.  The ball must be thrown for 
interference to be called also.  See ASA 8-2-E 

15. A runner is out if she slaps hands or high-fives other players, after a 
homerun is hit over the fence.   A runner is only out if a player (who is not a 
runner) or coach physically assists a player in running the bases.  As you 
can imagine, a high-five could not be judged as physically assisting.  See 
ASA 8-8-E 
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16.  Tie goes to the runner.   Every umpire is taught: either the runner beat 
the throw, or the throw beat the runner. Every now and then, you might 
have a play, that is just so close it is difficult to make a decision.   In the 

http://www.dmsua.com/forty_rule_myths.html#top
http://www.dmsua.com/forty_rule_myths.html#top


back of my mind is always the question...."Who made this play too close to 
call?   If F5 makes a spectacular back-hand stab and fires and the ball and 
the runner get there at the same time.......give the out to the 
defense......they earned it.   If F4 bobbles and drops an easy 
grounder......give the benefit to the runner.  In the hundreds of games that I 
have called, I can only think of a few times I have used this because almost 
always, no matter how close, either the ball beat the runner or it didn't...... 

17. The runner gets the base he's going to, plus one on a ball thrown out-
of-play.  The 1+1 is an old myth that I still get every now and 
then…example: batter singles and has rounded first and sees F7 make a 
great stop and starts back towards 1st when F7 uncorks a horrible throw 
that sails into the bleachers.  We have a 2 base award from the time the 
ball left the fielders hand that administered from the last legally held base 
that each runner had at the time of the throw.  Some believe that since the 
batter was heading back to first…that she is awarded the base she was 
heading to (1st) and 1 base……so she would wind up on 2nd.  The proper 
award would be 3rd base.  See ASA 8-6-G 

18. Anytime a coach touches a runner, the runner is out.   See rule myth 
#15. 

19. Runners may never run the bases in reverse order.   A runner is 
entitled to run the bases in reverse order (and sometimes required) when 
back tracking to tag up on a caught fly ball.  Example…speedy runner on 
first and she is off at the crack of the bat…the ball is hit to DEEP 
center…the runner is already past third when the ball is caught…she 
MUST now run the bases in reverse order to safely get back to 1st.  She 
may NOT cut across the diamond but MUST retouch the bases in the 
reverse order she touched them advancing.  See ASA 8-3-A 

20.  The runner must always slide when the play is close.   The runner 
must avoid a fielder who has the ball when waiting to make a play.  She 
does not have to slide.  She may slide into the fielder, attempt to run 
around the fielder (and possibly be called out for runner out of the 3’ 
baseline), she may run back to the last legally held base, in ASA she may 
attempt to jump over the fielder, or she can simply give up.  If in the 
umpires judgement the ball the fielder and the runner all converge on the 
same place at the same time…it is simply a wreck…neither interference 
nor obstruction.  See ASA POE #13  Note:  Any league that institutes a 
MUST slide rule is looking for problems…….a good Lawyer will turn your 
league into hamburger meat for creating a rule such as this. 
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21.  The runner is always safe when hit by a batted ball while touching a 
base.  A good quote to explain this one ::  “A runner is not out when struck 
by an infield fly (or any fly ball) if she is touching the base unless she 
intentionally interferes with a fielder trying to catch a ball.”  See ASA POE 
#39-A 

22.  A runner may not steal on a foul-tip.  The ball is live on a foul 
tip.  Runners may steal because the ball is alive.  A foul tip is a ball that 
goes sharp and direct to the catchers glove and is caught.  A sharply hit 
foul ball that does not meet this definition, is just that, a FOUL BALL.  See 
ASA Rule 1 – Definitions (Foul Tip), and ASA 7-4-D 

23. It is a force out when a runner is called out for not tagging up on a fly 
ball.   Failing to retouch is not a force.  If a runner is called out for the 3rd 
out on appeal for not retouching (tagging up), any preceding runs score 
unless the appeal is made before they cross the plate.  See ASA Rule 1 – 
Definitions (Force Out), and ASA POE #1 Appeals - J & K. 

24.  An appeal on a runner who missed a base cannot be a force out.   A 
runner who misses a base they were forced to and it is properly appealed 
for the 3rd out, can nullify any runs that score.  See ASA POE #1 Appeals – 
J. 

25. A runner is out if she runs out of the baseline to avoid a fielder who is 
fielding a batted ball.  A runner is declared out for running out of the 
baseline ONLY if she is avoiding a tag by a fielder with the ball.  See ASA 
8-8-A and 8-9-A. 
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26. Runners may not advance when an infield fly is called.   Runners may 
advance with the risk of being tagged while off their base, and being called 
out on appeal for leaving a base too soon (if the IF (Infield Fly) is 
caught).  The runners ARE NOT forced to advance if the IF is 
dropped.  See ASA Rule 1 – Definitions (Infield Fly) and ASA 8-2-I. 

27. No run can score when a runner is called out for the third out for not 
tagging up.   This is a time play…opposite of Rule Myth #23 and is 
answered in  Rule Myth #22.  See ASA POE#1-K 

28. A pitch that bounces to the plate cannot be hit.   Probably from Slow 
pitch softball, where the ball becomes dead when it touches the ground.  In 
FP, the ball remains alive when it hits the ground and may be hit by the 
batter.  
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29. The batter does not get first base if hit by a pitch after it bounces.   A 
batter is entitled to 1st base if hit by a pitch even though it hit the ground 
first (unless they made no effort to get out of the way).  See ASA 8-1-F 

30. If a fielder holds a fly ball for 2 seconds it's a catch.   The umpire will 
need to determine if, in his or her  judgment, the fielder had held the ball 
long enough to prove complete control (quoting the ASA rule). The ASA 
rule also states It is not a catch, if a fielder, collides with another player, 
umpire or a fence, or falls to the ground and drops the ball as a result of the 
collision or falling to the ground (voluntary release). There is no mention of 
time here. The myth in #30 is that there is a time test - there isn't.  See ASA 
– Rule 1 Definitions (Catch). 
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31. You must tag the base with your foot on a force out or appeal.   Any 
portion of the fielders body may be made when tagging a bag on a force 
out.  Even if the fielder has the ball in her hand and touches the base with 
her empty glove…this would be an out.  See ASA 8-8-C. 

32. The ball is always immediately dead on a illegal pitch.  This is a 
delayed dead ball.  If the batter hits the pitch the batter (and all runners) 
advance at least one base, the illegal pitch is ignored..  If the batter hits the 
ball but the criteria to nullify the illegal pitch is not met, the offended coach 
may take the result of the play or the penalty for the illegal pitch (a ball on 
the batter and all runners are advanced one base)  See ASA  6-(1-8) 
EFFECT. 

33. If a player's feet are in fair territory when the ball is touched, it is a fair 
ball.  It is the position of the BALL which determines whether it is fair or 
foul…NOT the position of the fielder.  See definition section……fair or foul 
ball. 

34. The ball must always be returned to the pitcher before an appeal can 
be made.    In most softball governing bodies, appeals may either be made 
during live ball situation – i.e. – tagging a base that a runner failed to tag 
up,  touching a base that a runner missed (with a request to the umpire that 
is what the defense is appealing), tagging the runner for a base running 
infraction are all live ball appeals.  

The defense may also make an appeal on a runner after play is stopped on 
any base running infraction.  This is done by any infielder  requesting to the 
proper umpire that they are appealing the infraction.  The umpire would 
then rule on the appeal.  The ASA POE#1 – Appeals gives a great 
explanation on how to make a proper live or dead ball appeal. 

http://www.dmsua.com/forty_rule_myths.html#top


35. The pitcher's hand may not pass her hip twice. The pitching rules 
essentially allow for 1 time past the hips in the BACKWARD direction and 
NOT MORE THAN TWICE in the forward direction. A related myth is that 
the so called "California" or "Chinese" changeup is legal. This is a pitch 
where the pitcher releases the ball and makes an additional arm circle after 
release. No revolution following release is allowed and this is interpreted to 
mean nothing beyond reasonable follow-through.  See ASA 6-3-D 
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36.  The pitcher's foot must remain in contact with the pitching plate until 
release. The pitcher's PIVOT foot (right for RHP, left for LHP), must remain 
in contact with the ground; it may push off and drag away from the pitcher's 
plate but not from any other place.  See ASA 6-3-I 

37. If a fielder catches a fly ball and then falls over the fence it is a 
homerun.   This is just a catch and an out.  If the fielder completely enters 
dead ball territory over the fence, all runners are awarded 1 base (unless 
the catch is the 3rd out).  See ASA Rule 1 Catch and ASA 8-6-K 

38. The ball is dead anytime an umpire is hit by the ball.   On a 60’ 
diamond, it is almost impossible for an umpire to interfere with a batted 
ball.  The only way interference would be ruled is if the umpire was struck 
with a batted ball BEFORE it passed an infielder (other than the 
pitcher).  Since softball umpires work behind the infield – this scenario is 
unlikely.  If an umpire is hit with a batted ball after it has passed an infielder 
or struck with any thrown ball, the ball remains alive and in play.  See ASA 
8-1-E and 10-8-E. 

39. The home plate umpire can overrule the other umps at anytime.   NO 
umpire has the authority to set aside or question decisions made by 
another umpire within the limits of the respective duties as outlined in the 
rules.   Read all of ASA rule 10. 

40. It is illegal for two base runners to occupy the same base.  Two runners 
may occupy the same base, but one of them is in jeopardy of being put 
out.  If a runner is forced to advance to the next base…..the lead runner 
would be out if tagged.  If the lead runner is not forced….she “owns” the 
base and the trail runner would be out if tagged. 
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