## CITY of MOUNT GAMBIER MASTER OF MCNAMARA PARK

by Laurie Fox

ADDING his name to the elite group that have won the prestigious Master of McNamara Park more than once, Mount Gambier clubman David Trotter was successful in completing his bid to achieve consecutive victories with an outstanding exhibition last weekend, unbeaten in both races.

Riding a 1000cc Suzuki, Trotter narrowly qualified for pole and with brilliant starts ran out winner of both Saturday's six lap race and Sunday's 12 lap clincher despite strong challenges from a surprise entrant from Darwin, Chip Parry, who turned in brilliant efforts for his first time at Mac Park to be a close second each time.

Not having taken part in the Easter Cup first round of the series, Parry was never a chance of an overall placing although his weekend efforts still brought him a most creditable sixth in the Master of Mac Park behind the Adelaide trio of Duncan Lynch, Evan Byles and Royce Rowe and Hartwell's Nathan McKenzie.

Previous winners, Victorian Steve Tozer, who did not compete at the weekend after being unable to make the trip, and Graham Snaith from SA who also did not race, were seventh and eighth from their round one points while another Darwin rider, Karl Schmidt, was a close ninth from his good placings on Saturday and Sunday.

While there was plenty of outstanding racing throughout the two days, an unfortunate incident brought a long delay to racing on Saturday forcing some planned events to be held over for an early start on Sunday and disappointing many followers who were unable to wait and missed several races.

All was going well until event six sidecars when a leak from a faulty oil line spread over the entire circuit and the clean up took more than ninety minutes of work by all available officials and the assistance of several competitors before racing was able to resume.

A check of all machines found two similar pipes on solos that may have given trouble but prompt attention eliminated any likelihood and Saturday's three final events and Sunday's program ran through without worry, the ideal weather atoning in a big way.

With some events also counting for the South Australian Championships, Trotter added victories in both the 600cc and Over 600cc categories to his outstanding weekend, unbeaten in all three legs of the two classes after leading throughout.

Second overall in the Bridgeland Over 600cc, Lynch had two heat seconds and a third but was hard pressed by the Northern Territory's Parry with two thirds and a second while others well in the picture included Schmidt, Stephen Millar and Hartwell's Shaun Pilmore.

With Trotter in front throughout in all three SA Motorcycles 600cc heats, Byles, Rowe and the ever improving young local Ryan Ritchie were next in every race to complete the overall placings while others who were never far astern included SA's James Fruin, Victorian Danial McKenzie and Che Diggens from Darwin.

Turning to the important support events, the Shannons Limited category brought overall victory to Adelaide's Rowe on his 650 Ducati, a clear winner of all three heats.

Not a great distance away, local junior Ted Collins turned in top efforts on his 125 Honda, second in every event and overall while Mount Gambier's Aaron Rigby snared third on his 650 Hyosung from two thirds and a fourth, a trifle unlucky to be pipped by Collins on the final corner in race one after holding second for four laps.

Never far back, Victorian Tim Leighton was fourth with a best of a third while others in the leading group included Fruin, and Victorians Peter Scott and David Wilson.

Going well in the first two Shannons Limited races, junior Jock Manser and Darren Trotter on 125s were both unlucky to have problems in race three and did not finish.

For machines built prior to 2000, the Shingleback 20th Century category combined early C20 and later plus models and attracted a good field of 18 for the three heats.

Riding a C20 plus Yamaha 600, Mount Gambier club member Danial McKenzie headed John Chiodo on a C20 plus Suzuki 1000 and Darren Trotter on a 125 Honda C20 in all three races while others in pursuit were SA's Mark Salt, Peter Scott, Graham O'Neil and several more all enjoying the unusual class.

Catering for riders of historic bikes with their own Master awards, the combined Periods three, four and five events added variety to the meeting and interest for followers of the older models.

The small Period Three Classic group was dominated by South Australians with Dan Gleeson best on a 600cc Norton from Philip Ransom with a 350cc Ducati and Trevor Henderson's early 350cc BSA Gold Star while Adelaide's Andrew Bannerman headed the combined Periods four and five on his P5 400 Yamaha, beating Victorian Rodger Snape with a 250cc Yamaha and West Australian William Croft on a 900 Ducati SS.

Much appreciated by the owners of such models, Motards, basically motocross bikes with suitable road tyres and gearing, were included in the program and brought some keenly fought contests with Adelaide's Shane Casey a triple heat winner on his 450 Yamaha, beating Victorians David Hall on a 450 Husqvarna and Benjamin Taylor with a 450 SMR while their fellow statesman Paul Newcombe was unlucky, second in the first two races but a non finisher after a tumble in race three.

Included as a single event, the 125cc Feature attracted nine entries and went clearly to brilliant young junior Ted Collins from Adelaide's James Fruin on Hondas, Yamaha mounted Victorian Peter Scott and local Darren Trotter in a rare 125cc outing.

Unfortunately having to use his back up bike after an incident in an earlier race, Mount Gambier's Jock Manser was fifth on the slower machine.

While there were only five starters, the sidecars added interest with Mount Gambier's Stephen and David Jones clearly fastest to win all three scratch races and the Sidecar Master of Mac Park while others turned in some good efforts with Victorians Mark Leigh and Ian Robertson second each time from locals Adrian van Unitert with John Bartlett, David McArthurd with Gregery Pound and the local crew of Moryn Sullivan and Ricky Pycroft in all three scratch races, Sullivan atoning with an easy win from van Uitert and McArthur in the handicap.

Completing the racing, a full gate of 24 started in the Master of Mac Park consolation race over 10 laps where the top two were South Australians with Chris Tyler on a 600 Suzuki beating Russell Crane on a Honda 1000 while third went to Victorian Paul Newcombe when Simon Goyne was relegated to tenth with a 10 second penalty applied for passing under a yellow flag.

Continuing his good weekend form, Mount Gambier's Aaron Rigby did well to be fifth in the big field on his 650 Hyosung.

While there were no junior races as such, Ted Collins was awarded the Junior Master of Mac Park trophy in recognition of his outstanding efforts against seniors.