## Alex Hickey Wins Falcons B&F for Season 2013

GEELONG Falcons coach Andy Allthorpe has given a glowing endorsement of Alex Hickey after the co-captain took out the TAC Cup club's best and fairest award.

Hickey, who played every game in 2013, polled 77 votes to win the award by nine votes from fellow co-captain James Tsitas.

Goalkicking rover Lewis Taylor, tipped to be a first round selection in the AFL national draft later this month, finished outright third on 57 votes.

Allthorpe said Hickey had left a lasting impression on everyone involved at Highton Reserve in his two years in the Falcons' program.

"He's just an amazing person," Allthorpe said. "The impact he has on you is quite profound and I've not come across that in anyone at that age (18).

"He respects everyone around the footy club and he's made a massive impression on every person he meets in his life and his footy.



Alex Hickey – Geelong Falcons' B&F Winner for Season 2013

"He's No.1 for attitude and effort and, talent-wise, he might be behind a couple of others – but he's not that far away."

Hickey is the first captain to win the Falcons best and fairest award in the same season since Chris Lynch in 2008.

The 18-year-old averaged just under 20 possessions, 5.5 marks and 3.6 tackles a game in 2013 playing across half-back.

Allthorpe said Hickey's best and fairest triumph was a reward for the way he handled his surprise omission from the Vic Country squad for this year's AFL under-18 national championships.

"The way he finished the year was outstanding and I'm not sure the door is completely shut on his rookie (draft) prospects just yet," Allthorpe said.

Joint Morrish medallist George Cameron added another accolade to his season haul by being named the Falcons' Most Consistent Player for 2013.

AFL Victoria's High Performance Manager Leon Harris was a special guest of the night to present Cameron with his Morrish Medal which he jointly shared with three other players.

Sam Russell and Teia Miles were joint winners of the Falcons' best players in the finals while Scott Dixon's 23 goals for the season was enough to win him the leading goalkicker award.

Other award winners on the night included tall utility Fraser Fort (Most Dedicated), midfielder Darcy Lang (Most Improved), defender Jye Cross (High Performance Award), Reid Adams (Coaches Award), ruckman Luke Davis (Talent Managers Award) and half-forward Billy Beardsell (Football Operations Manager's Award).

Tsitas, Taylor, Fort and tall utility Darcy Gardiner were recognised for their selections in the TAC Cup Team of the Year – equalling the most ever Falcons representatives named in the side in one season.

Taylor and Gardiner were acknowledged for being named All-Australians following the under-18 national carnival.

The prestigious Noel Edgeton Award was presented to club stalwart Bill Scott.

**Falcons' best and fairest top 10:** Alex Hickey 77 votes, James Tstitas 68, Lewis Taylor 57, George Cameron 55, Fraser Fort 47, Darcy Lang 43, Reid Adams 42, Billy Beardsell 38, Joe Maishman 35, Jackson Nelson 34.

Brad Green