AFL VICTORIA MEDIA RELEASE

AFL Victoria's Metro and Country teams boasted nine inclusions in the 2012 NAB AFL All-Australian team announced at the end of the U18 Championships that were completed on Wednesday in Melbourne.

It comes as no surprise that 2012 Championship winner Vic Metro had six players selected in the team, with Vic Country having three.

At the end of the Championships a MVP was selected from each side, with six of the MVP's gaining selection in the All Australian team. Dandenong Southern Stingrays Lachie Whitfield won the Larke Medal for the best division one player in the Championships.

The division one (Vic Metro) and two (NT) Championship coaches were selected as Coach (Brenton Toy) and assistant (Rohan Welsh) of the All Australian team, with NT coach receiving the main honour after NT inflicted Vic Metro's only defeat of the Championship.

FAST FACTS

Vic Metro won the Division One title.

The Northern Territory won the Division Two title.

Lachie Whitfield from Vic Country (Dandenong Southern Stingrays) won the Larke Medal, presented to the Division One best and fairest.

Jake Neade from the Northern Territory won the Harrison Medal, presented to the Division Two best and fairest.

NAB MVP players:

Jack Martin (WA)

Sam Colquhoun (SA)

Lachie Whitfield (Vic Country)

Nathan Hrovat (Vic Metro)

Andrew Boston (Qld)

Zac Williams (NSW/ACT)

Jed Anderson (NT)

Jackson Thurlow (Tas)

2012 NAB AFL All-Australian team

Coach: Brenton Toy (NT)

Assistant Coach: Rohan Welsh (Vic Metro)

Defenders: Sam Colquhoun (SA), Matt Scharenberg (SA), **Luke McDonald (Vic Metro – Oakleigh Chargers)**, Jimmy Toumpas (SA), Jesse Hogan (WA), **Nick**

Vlastuin (Vic Metro – Northern Knights)

Midfield: James Aish (SA), Oliver Wines (Vic Country – Bendigo Pioneers), Lachie Whitfield (Vic Country – Dandenong Stingrays), Brodie Grundy (SA), Jonathon O'Rourke (Vic Metro – Calder Cannons), Nathan Hrovat (Vic Metro – Northern Knights)

Forwards: Jack Billings (Vic Metro – Oakleigh Chargers), Taylor Garner (Vic Country – Dandenong Stingrays), Jack Martin (WA), Ben Kennedy (SA), Joe Daniher (Vic Metro – Calder Cannons), Matthew McDonough (SA)

Interchange: Andrew Boston (QLD), Dayle Garlett (WA), Jake Neade (NT), Jackson Thurlow (TAS)

Anthony Stanguts
Communications & Marketing Manager
AFL Victoria
Visy Park
Gate 3 Royal Parade
CARLTON NTH VIC 3054
GPO Box 4337 | Melbourne VIC 3001

Ph: (03) 8341 6032 | Fax: (03) 9380 1076 | Mob : 0413 986 190