Nathan Drummond 2014 John Byrne Medalist

Nathan Drummond has taken out the 2014 John Byrne Medal in front of a packed audience at the Wangaratta Racing Club. In what was a thrilling vote Count Drummond (42 votes) stormed home in the final 3 games with 15 votes to win from Rennie’s Dan Howe (40 votes) and North Albury’s Ruckman Isaac Muller (39 votes).

 2014 John Byrne Medal Voting

  1. Nathan Drummond (Mooroopna) 42 Votes
  2. Dan Howe (Rennie) 40 Votes
  3. Isaac Muller (Henty / North Albury) 39 Votes
  4. Nick Mellington (Benalla) 35 Votes
  5. Tom Holman (Kyabram) 33 Votes
  6. Kieran Ellis (Albury) 21 Votes
  7. Caleb Marchbank (Benalla) 17 Votes
  8. Brydan Hodgson (Lavington) 15 Votes
  9. Mitch Mahady (North Albury) 14 Votes
  10. Murray Waite (Wangaratta Magpies) 13 Votes


Award Winners on the Night included


Staff Person of the Year – Mal Robinson

5 Year Service Award – Katrina McInness

20 Year Service Award – Rob Ryan

20 Year Service Award – Deb Eason


Under 16 Most Valuable Player – Jy Simpkin (Mooroopna)

Under 16 Runner up MVP – Harry Morrison (Benalla)

 TAC CUP – Trainers Award – Murray Waite (Wangaratta Magpies)

TAC CUP – Ashley Cox Under 17 Award – Jake Marshall (Deniliquin Rams)

TAC CUP – Most Improved Award – Brydan Hodgson (Lavington)

TAC CUP – Leading Goalkicker – Josh Schache (Seymour)

TAC CUP – Best in Finals – Nick Mellington (Benalla)

TAC CUP – Coaches Award – Caleb Marchbank (Benalla)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.