Round 10 TAC CUP vs North Ballarat Rebels

TAC CUP Preview


The Murray Bushrangers face a crunch game against fellow finals aspirant the North Ballarat Rebels in Round 10 of the TAC CUP.


Both teams head to Highgate Recreation Reserve in Craigieburn with four wins and will be looking to set up their season with a Victory this weekend.


Despite accounting for North Ballarat in Round 3 Coach Darren Ogier is under no illusions as to the challenge at hand. “The Rebels are the in form team of the competition having won their last four game including an 89 victory over the Sandringham Dragons in their last game”.


“The Rebels are a quality team who have demonstrated in recent weeks that they can match it with anyone in the competition, our boys will need to ensure they are on top of their game this week” Ogier said.


The Bushrangers welcome back Victorian Country representative Josh Schache (Seymour) who will play a key forward and spend time in the ruck. Brydon Hodgson returns to the midfield fresh off a 3 goal performance for Lavington in last weekends win over Yarrawonga.


Young developing utility Julius Battista will make his debut for the Bushrangers following good form for the Shepparton Bears in the Goulburn Valley Football League. Ogier was full of praise for the youngster “Julius is a good size and has demonstrated good versatility with Shepparton Bears in recent weeks”.


The Bushrangers have shown good form in recent weeks and will go into this weekend’s game full of confidence. ‘The boys should be up for the challenge, a place in the top 8 is up for grabs and as they say it is an old fashioned 8 point game” Ogier said.


The game starts at 1.30pm at Highgate Recreation Reserve and will be broadcast live on TAC CUP radio which can be found via the Red Time sport app free to download from the ITunes store or via the link on


Don’t forget to follow the Murray Bushrangers on TWITTER #gobushies










Josh Schache


Brydon Hodgson


Julius Battista

Shepparton Bears



Brodie Webster


Allister Clarke


Jake Marshall



The selected team for this round is:


17. Tom Holman


36. Mitch Mahady
(North Albury)

11. Kieran Ellis

(Albury FC)


27. Martin Brennan


30. Alex Tattersall


29. Lachlan Tiziani



31. Jackson Clarke

(Wangaratta Magpies)

12. Nick Mellington


1.Brady Pritchard

(Yarrawonga FC)


16. Nick Coughlan

(Albury Tigers)

20. Dougal Howard

(Albury Tigers)

33. Connor Brown



19. Murray Waite

(Wangaratta Magpies)

23. Josh Schache


13. Dylan McDonald



32. Isaac Muller

(Nth Albury)

18. Jim Carroll


9. Brydon Hodgson



7. Michael Duncan

(Mitta United)

8. Henry Peni

(Shepparton Swans)

6. Shaun Mannagh

(North Albury)


48. Tom Nihill


38. Julius Battista

(Shepparton Bears)



34. Callum Crisp


28. Nate Trotter


14. Jay O’Donoghue




Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.