New look for Hart Sport Cup Division 1 in 2022

There is nothing more certain in our fast paced modern world than change and once again we see our QFA Division 1 Hart Sport Cup competition evolve anew.

The changes to the VFL competition sees the Aspley Football club dropping down to the QAFL for 2022 meaning they will consolidate their operations to that competition and no longer compete in Division 1. The late withdrawal of the Kenmore Bears at the beginning of the 2021 Season and the movement of the Hornets to the QAFL left just six teams in Division 1.

AFL Queensland assured the remaining Division 1 clubs that it was a priority to bolster the Hart Sport Cup to at least eight teams for 2022 reflecting the profile of this competition.

Following up on this advice we are pleased to welcome the Moreton Bay Lions and the Wynnum Vikings to the Hart Sport Cup for 2022.

The Moreton Bay Lions have been consistent high performers in the Division 2 North competition for a number of years taking out the Premiership in 2021. The Tigers last played the Lions in the QFA Division 1 North Competition but they are a much improved outfit now having consolidated their operations at their high profile home ground at Burpengary. It is clear that the great support that the Moreton Bay Regional Council provides to their local sporting community is paying considerable dividends as the Lions go from strength to strength.

The Wynnum Vikings also join the Hart Sport Cup on the back of continued improvement over recent years. The Vikings are a proud Brisbane club with connections to their location dating back to the beginning of the last century. The club in its present form commenced in the 1960’s. Many old Tigers, particularly those that played some footy for the Banyo Bloods will have plenty of fond memories of willing encounters with the Vikings in the 1970’s.

The new lineup for the Hart Sport Cup will be Beenleigh, Caloundra, Coorparoo, Mayne, Moreton Bay, Springwood, University and Wynnum making for a good spread of competitive clubs across Logan, Brisbane, Moreton Bay and Sunshine Coast LGA’s.

In respect of Women’s footy, we can expect more growth in this space with seven new participating clubs in 2021 and other clubs looking to add a second team in 2022. The Sherwood Magpies took out the QFAW Division 2 Central Competition Premiership in 2021 and have already advised that they will be adding a second team for 2022.

The Tigers were very pleased with the way their inaugural season played out with a strong group of players, some with prior experience taking it up to the competition in fine style. The team is looking to increase the numbers for season 2022 with the door wide open for more recruits to attack the 2022 season.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8