A Coghill Legacy from 1962

Further to recent posts regarding the passing of Barry Coghill, some of his friends and former players from a junior team he coached in 1962 got together at Bob Singleton’s Pineapple Hotel (a long time friend of Graham McColm and Tyrone Stewart) – Bob was also a friend of Barry. 

The 1962 undefeated U13 Mayne Tigers Premiership team gathered at “the Pinie” to catch up and toast Barry. 

Graham “Macca” McColm reports that the group’s memories are strong from 59 years ago – “We had a great team and this was the first junior team Barry coached – he did a great job.” 

In addition to reminiscing with their cherished 1962 Premiership photo, the “boys” took a picture for this occasion. 

On the left from the front is Bart Sinclair, Lloyd Graham, Tyrone Stewart, Brian (Puddy) Warlow who was not in our team but a close team mate of Barry’s and mine host Bob Singleton 

On the right .. Kelvin Boys (holding their team photos) Peter Butler, Col Cresser, Graham McColm and Barry Edgley (at the head of the table) 

Four of this handsome group went on to play many seniors games for the Tigers as did others from that star studded junior team who could not attend on the day. 

The boys shared many memories of their success and cherish the fact that after an amazing 59 years they remain strong mates today.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8