Tiger Women's team tap into club DNA

The inaugural Mayne Tigers Women’s team will tap into the rich history of the club with the team engaging much loved and respected Life Member Glenda Barber as the team’s matriarch. Glenda’s father Vince Ryan and uncle Clem were members of the Tigers first Premiership team in 1927.

The Barber family has been synonymous with the Mayne Tigers for over 70 years with Glenda and husband Rod both taking on endless roles for the club as individuals and as a dynamic duo to this day.

The Women’s team’s inaugural Coach Wayne Mahoney made this announcement last night at the Tigers Season Launch along with the announcement of the group’s first leadership group. Paige Weddell will be the team’s first Captain and she will be joined by Emily Bowden and Brooke Restall as Vice Captains.

The club is very excited about this new team who will play almost all of their home games following the Men’s Senior team at the Den. Senior Coach Josh Duffy expressed his delight and excitement regarding the support coming from the entire playing group about this new team and the commitment to be their number one supporters.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8