Callum Brooks wins Colts top award

The Colts held their Trophy Presentation yesterday afternoon at the Den with a great roll up of players and parents.

Coach Danny Brady took the boys through the year to reflect on the many highlights and recognise the great work and determination shown by all the boys in a year where they all stuck to the task against some very challenging odds. It has been widely recognised that the boys were almost all in the younger age bracket.

The boys can be truly proud of their efforts with President Russell Ditchburn taking them through the importance of the colts programme to the club. He let them know that of the thirty five players who represented the Senior team in 2018, eighteen had come through the Mayne Colts. In further recognition of the importance of the colts and a reflection of the opportunities available to local lads, eight Mayne Colts made their debut in the senior team this year with three being selected to play in the finals series in the top team.

It was also very pleasing this year that eight members of this year’s colts had the opportunity to play in the Reserves and Thirds setting them up with valuable experience for season 2019.

Callum Brooks took out the Russell Ditchburn Best and Fairest Award recognising the tremendous season he had shouldering the ruck position as well as a number of key positions. Isaiah Ryder was a close runner up for Best and Fairest while Tom Eccleston was judged Most Consistent for the 2018 season.

Other award winners were;

Most Courageous              Josh Ryan
Best Team Player               Nathaniel Te Tau
Coaches Award                   Arian Harding
Most Improved                   Lochlann O’Sullivan
Best Utility                            Gus Shaw
Best First Year Player        Digby Morison

In an exciting development, Isaiah Ryder qualified recently at Metricon Stadium to run in the sprints on Grand Final Day at the MCG next Saturday where he will be representing the Mayne Football Club so we wish him all the very best of fortune for the event. Irrespective of the result, it is a wonderful achievement to make the final heats from right across Australia.

A big thanks goes to Danny Brady as Coach of this young group along with Campbell Shaw and Craig O’Sullivan as Team Managers. The team also enjoyed great support from a strong following of parents and can look forward to a big year in 2019.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8