Tigers win inaugural Legacy Anzac Clash

The Mayne Tigers drew first blood in the inaugural Legacy Anzac Clash against the Coorparoo Football Club yesterday in what is anticipated to be an annual event following the success of the day and the support from both clubs.

Coorparoo President Sam Haddad summed it up at the conclusion of the day that the game and the spirit in which it was played was a fitting example honoring the spirit of the Anzacs in such an important week in the year and one that both clubs could be rightly proud.

The Tigers were pumped for this game, not just because of its significance to the Anzacs, but also because it was Club Captain Jack Collings 100th appearance for the club.

The before the game commemoration including the playing of the national anthems by the Pipes and Drums National Servicemen’s Memorial Band added a special note to the day as well as the ultimate awarding for the first time of the Wayne Stewart Medal for the player judged by the umpires to be the best and fairest on the day.

The game got off to a fast start with both sides giving no quarter with ferocious attack on the ball. As was to be all day both teams were never far apart and each well in the contest.

The Tigers finished the first term three points ahead and brimming with confidence with the way they were playing. Andrew Housego turned the clock back many years to lay some bone rattling tackles as well as get the scoreboard ticking over finishing with five goals for the day.

It was however the second quarter where the Tigers kicked away to a three goal lead with their best quarter of the season. The Tigers midfield was having plenty of success with the young winger Jesse Gough prominent with his pace and finishing skills.

The experience of Clint Brunnenmeyer and Sam Paterson around the middle provided the advantage they needed to slip into the lead while the backline held firm once again with Dean Hartley leading the way.

The Tigers can also be well pleased with efforts of talls Dan Schmidt and Jamie Ivers while Nick Holleran, Lochy Wills and Kyle Henry in the young brigade weren’t overawed by the occasion and all played critical roles in the Tigers win.

The Tigers held out the Kings who kept pressing to the last in what was an exciting game.

Mayne Tigers Clint Brunnenmeyer was awarded the first Wayne Stewart Medal by Tyrone Stewart in honour of his late brother.

Scores: Mayne 14.8.96 d Coorparoo 11.12.78
Goals: A Housego 5, C Sellen, N Holleran 2, C Massingham, J Collings, D Evans, Z McLean, J Ivers 1.
Best: J Gough, J Morrison, D Hartley, S Paterson, A Housego, N Holleran.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8