Annual Reunion Day at the Den this Saturday

This year marks the 90th anniversary of Mayne's first ever senior Premiership win and the Mayne Tigers are featuring this team in their annual Reunion this weekend on Saturday 3rd June.

The team will be featured through the photographs and memorabilia that are currently held in the club archives.

The club has been looking to make contact with relatives of the team members or anyone who has a connection with the Tigers from this era over the last six months. At present Mayne has contact with about 10 direct descendants. There are already a number of these descendants of the team attending as guests of the Mayne Tigers.

Perhaps you can remember a story from that time or know a relative of the team and support staff. The club would love to hear from you or one of these important people who make up the Mayne Tiger’s story.

A very valuable photograph of the 1927 team annotated has now been located having been sourced thanks to Rod and Glenda Barber. The following names of the premiership players were as follows:

Sam Jones, Clem Ryan (Vice –captain), Eddie Hadwen, Frank P Jones, Bill “Bluey” Higginson, Jim McKinless, Felix Bernardin, Vince Ryan (Secretary & player), Albert Hadwen, Eric Mawby, Roy Whitbread (Captain), Fred Deane, Bill Hinton (Treasurer & player), Eric “Buck” Jones, Vic McCluskey, A R Brimblecombe, L G Storey, W McElligott, W Messingbird and R E Bell.

The team went through the season with only one loss to win the club’s first senior flag.

The other committee members at that time were, E T Lendrum, President, James A McKay, C L Mawby, S Abel and C H Deane, Vice –Presidents and finally, T C Wightman, QNAFL Delegate. As well the mascot was Rex McKay.

If you are aware of a connection with this famous Mayne Tigers team please can you contact Mayne through Richard Fell on The club would like to get more of the relatives of this team to the 2017 reunion day on the 3rd June.

The day will also celebrate the 1967 Premiership winning team and the 1977 Reserve Grade Premiership team (back to back to back premiers)

The day also includes the awarding of the Mick Nolan Medal for the Tigers Best and Fairest in the senior game. The medal was struck in recognition of one of the Mayne Tiger’s favourite identities who passed away in 2008 and will once again be presented by Mick’s widow Nettie.

All past and present players, family, friends and supporters are invited to attend this important day in the Mayne Tiger’s calendar.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8