Season launched for 2017

The Mayne Tigers launched their 2017 in fine style in the H Lounge at the Hamilton Hotel last night with sixty two players accepting their playing numbers.

The night was hosted by the club’s biggest identity in Danny Craven who brought his usual passion and humour to the night. Craven rounded out a great night with some pertinent comparisons for the Tigers with the Western Bulldogs 2016 performance also quoting Luke Beveridge and Dr Suess to inspire the club to even greater success.

The Tigers will be led by new Captain Jack Collings who will take over from his cousin Caleb Brown who stepped down after five years in the position as the most successful Captain in the clubs history with three premierships during his reign. Jack has been at the Tigers since 2012 and has accumulated 78 games and two senior premierships during this time.

The leadership group was announced by the club’s very experienced player coach in Clint Brunnenmeyer and includes a mix of young and old but plenty of experience with 20 premiership medals between them all. In addition to Jack Collings, Bill Stephens and Andrew Housego will be Vice Captains while Zac McLean, Fraser Thompson, Dean Hartley and Sam Paterson will round out a very balanced group.

The club’s major Sponsor GVG Design Construct was represented by Sam Gardner who presented the first ten jerseys with evergreen Andrew Housego accepting his much loved number 1. Housego will be looking to break the club games record in 2017 with five games needed to eclipse the record of 281 held by Albert Hadwen which has stood since the 1930’s. Albert’s brother Eddie finished his career at the Tigers on 280 games.

The Reserves leadership group also boasts a lot of experience with club favourite Corey Massingham and Scott Webber as Co-Captains and Stew Settle and Jack Morrison rounding out the leadership group.

The Tigers major signing for 2017 in Adam Mueller will wear number 20 which he accepted from Life Member Glenda Barber who has been involved with the club her whole life with her father and uncle members of the Tigers first premiership team in 1927. Adam Mueller has already impressed in the pre-season playing up forward and kicking a bag of goals but he is very versatile making the coaches job a little easier with a lot of options available with the range of experience evident across the list.

Club President Russell Ditchburn highlighted in his Season Launch address the number of sponsors that had once again come on board for 2017 and thanked them for their generosity. He also noted the extent of work involved in getting the club ready for another season on the back of three consecutive premierships which all goes to make for a continuous unbroken period of sustained effort and persistence.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8