Celebrating 90 Years since the first Tiger Premiership

This year marks the 90th anniversary of Mayne's first senior Premiership win – there is a picture of the team in the Mayne Tigers history book “The Tigers – From Glory to Heartbreak” but unfortunately there are no names included against the photo.

However, the following names of the premiership players have been gleaned from club records:

Sam Jones, Clem Ryan (Vice –captain), Eddie Hadwen, Frank P Jones, Bill “Bluey” Higginson, Jim McKinless, Felix Bernardin, Vince Ryan (Secretary & player), Albert Hadwen, Eric Mawby, Roy Whitbread (Captain), Fred Deane, Bill Hinton (Treasurer & player), Eric “Buck” Jones, Vic McCluskey, A R Brimblecombe, L G Storey, W McElligott, W Messingbird and R E Bell.

The team went through the season undefeated to win the club’s first senior flag.

The other committee members at that time were, E T Lendrum, President, James A McKay, C L Mawby, S Abel and C H Deane, Vice –Presidents and finally, T C Wightman, QNAFL Delegate. As well the mascot was Rex McKay.

The club is looking to make contact with relatives of the team members or anyone who has a connection with the Tigers from this era. Perhaps you can remember a story from that time or know a relative of the team and support staff.

In any case the Mayne Past Players and Supporters Group is going to feature the 1927 Premiership team at their 2017 Reunion Day on Saturday 3rd June this year. They are putting out a call for the relatives of the Team to be their guests on the day.

To this end the Tigers are sending out a call to the widest of the Mayne Tigers AFC family to let us know of any of the team members and any living relatives whereabouts and details.

If you are aware of a connection with this famous Mayne Tigers team please can you contact Mayne through Richard Fell on fellrichard@bigpond.com . The club would like to get as many of the relatives of this team as possible to the 2017 reunion day on the 3rd June.

The day will also celebrate the 1967 Premiership win and the 1977 Reserve Grade Premiership team (back to back to back)


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8