Back to Back for Tigers

The Mayne Tigers managed to hang on against a late charging Maroochydore to record a three goal win to go back to back and win the 2015 QFA North Grand Final.

The Tigers appeared to be cruising to a comfortable win as they had accumulated a seven goal advantage mid way through the third quarter but the game was far from over as the Roos found their way to narrow the gap to thirty two points at the last change and were very confident that they would run over the top of the reigning premiers.

The Tigers had all the possession in the first half of the final stanza but could not ice the game. The Tigers had kicked one goal but a wasteful seven points to keep the opposition hopes alive.

The Roos kicked right into gear and made the most of their opportunities with diametrically opposite accuracy to get to within five points of the Tigers.

The Tigers were able to steady the ship with a goal to Luke Faulkner and then go on to kick away to a nineteen point win against a side that had troubled them all year and will likely go on to bigger things in years to come.

But for this weekend and this year the Tigers are back to back premiers, a result that could not have been imagined a few years ago.

The Tigers were well served by their entire twenty two players with the coach Shaun Daly and the captain Caleb Brown leading from the front from the beginning to the end.

Caleb Brown was awarded the Mick Nolan Medal for the best and fairest in the grand final. The medal was presented by Nettie Nolan making for a great moment for Caleb and the Mayne Football club.

The club will hold its Club Champion Night at the Hamilton Hotel this coming Saturday night, the 19th September 2015 commencing at 6.30pm.

Scores: Mayne 13.20.98 d Maroochy 12.7.79

Goals: L Faulkner 4, C Brown, C Brunnenmeyer 2, A Housego, B McElligott, S Daly, F Thompson, J Caldow 1.   


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8