Faulkner wins Mick Nolan Medal

The Tiger faithful may have celebrated 90 years of footy in the Black and Gold at the Den yesterday but it was Luke Faulkner who iced the cake helping himself to fourteen goals and a unanimous choice to receive the Mick Nolan Medal.

In another dominant display at full forward, Faulkner made the most of every opportunity that came his way either taking exciting pack marks or shooting for goal.

Once again, the back line was impenetrable with Captain Calen Brown marshalling his troops to restrict any chance of the Caboolture Lions breaking the line. However, to their credit, the Lions never gave in and kept attacking right to the last.

The Tigers welcomed back club stalwart Andrew Housego after a three week hiatus and he was quickly back into the action with seven goals and a vintage display.

The absence of Coach Shaun Daly from the lineup with a bout of the flu didn’t stop the midfield as Dom Smith continued on his good form while ruckman Luke Howard controlled the stoppages in the middle and around the ground.

The Tigers play Caloundra next week at the Den in what shapes as an important challenge as the competition moves further into the second round. Mayne will welcome back Daly and still hopes to get experienced midfielder Nikos Keim back into the lineup soon.

Scores: Mayne 37.27.249 d Caboolture 0.1.1

Goals: L Faulkner 14, A Housego 7, Z McLean 3, C Sellen 2, J Maher 2, L Ferguson 2, L Howard 2, D Smith, L Bourke, T Murtha, J Duffy, J Magill 1.

Best: L Faulkner, A Housego, L Howard, C Brown, J Robinson, D Smith.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8