Mayne Celebrates 90 Year Milestone

The Mayne Football Club comes together this Saturday, 24th May, to once again celebrate the memory of Mick Nolan, the last Premiership Captain Coach of the Tigers.

The Mick Nolan Medal is awarded annually to the player adjudged to be the best and fairest Mayne player in the home game played closest to the date of Mick’s passing. Mick passed away on the 27th May 2008. Mick Nolan moved to Queensland to take over the reins of the Tigers after an illustrious career with the North Melbourne Football Club where he played an integral role in securing their first premiership in 1975. He steered the Tigers to a Premiership in 1982 and subsequently coached the Tigers for many years and played an important part in the survival of the club.

Mick’s wife Nettie will present the Mick Nolan Medal.

This day has evolved into a day of reunion for Mayne Tigers of all ages, sometimes celebrating significant milestones, or just as importantly rekindling old friendships forged in black and gold. In the year 2014, the club also celebrates 90 years since being formed in 1924. The club expects a large roll up of members and supporters to cheer on the 2014 Mayne Tigers as they take the field against the Caboolture Lions at 2.00pm.

As part of the 90th Year Celebrations, the club will welcome Dick Drake, the oldest living player, a premiership player from the 1952 Tigers and Norm Thomas, President of the Mayne Tigers from 1971 to 1974, as the oldest living supporter to share their recollections as part of the Mayne story.

All Mayne Tigers, young and old are encouraged to join in the day which commences with the Colts kicking off at 9.45am, followed by the Reserves at 12pm and Seniors at 2pm. Formalities commence at 1.30pm.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8