Daly delivers rousing call to arms at Season launch

New Coach Shaun Daly urged players, officials and supporters to want and expect success in 2014 and not be satisfied with anything less.

A crowd of 120 players, officials, family and supporters were treated to a good old fashioned oration full of passion by Daly in his inaugural coaches address at the 2014 Mayne Tigers Season Launch and Jersey Presentation.

The night was attended by 1973 Premiership Coach David Cearns and three of his team mates in Graham McColm, Greg Street and Peter Clay who were heard to be considering a comeback after the new Coaches call to arms.

MC Danny “Chippa” Craven took the audience through a special night of introductions starting with the new Colts team for 2014. This was followed by a gourmet’s delight put on by Sponsor, Treasurer and Chef Extraordinaire Guy Gardner and his able assistants Sandra Gardner and Albert Thompson. It seems that a good spicy curry is now becoming the food of choice at Tigerland.

The glittering line up of stars presented with their 2014 jerseys commenced with 243 game veteran Andrew Housego as number 1 jersey holder in his 18th season of senior football. Andrew looks as good as ever and is once again raring to go and looking for success, something every Tiger supporter wishes for him.

Other well credentialed players to receive their jerseys were former best and fairest winners, Caleb Brown and Luke Faulkner who with Dean Hartley make up the senior leadership trio. Brown is now in his third year as Club Captain.

The reserves will be lead by a new group of young men in Scott Webber, and former Mayne Juniors Jaxon Quaife and Scott Forrester. Reserves Coach Nifty Miller is very excited about his young team and looking for big things from them this year.

The first round match this Saturday will be played against Caboolture at the new Burpengary AFL standard facility.



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8