Mayne Young Guns support Transplant Queensland

Club stalwart Seamus Carrigan supported by Under 18’s Coaches Jarad Marsh and Matty Evans answered the call of long term club physio Ciaran McSherry to support the inaugural Transplant Queensland Charity Soccer Tournament held at the Albion Indoor Sports Centre yesterday.

Ciaran is one of the organisers of this event put together to raise funds and much needed awareness of the significant benefits achieved by organ donation and transplant. He asked the Tigers if they would be prepared to participate and Seamus was the one to rally the young guns to put together a team for the event.

The format was five games over the course of the day consisting of five a side teams with unlimited substitutions. The Tigers had a group of eleven willing participants who enjoyed the day and after playing the five round robin games made the finals. The format was very challenging but it was a great cross training work out for the boys playing the unfamiliar round ball game.

One of the teams participating in the day consisted entirely of transplant recipients who were pretty handy and a living example of the great work of Transplant Queensland.

Ciaran sends his thanks to the Tigers for their support of this important charity.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8