Evans makes it two in a row

The Club Champion Medal Night was another successful evening for Danny Evans as he took out the Graham Walters Trophy for being adjudged the Best and Fairest Player in the reserve grade for the second year in a row.

Evans played eight games out of a possible sixteen while making six senior appearances during the season making this an extraordinary effort. After returning to the reserve grade he dominated the back end of the season taking out eight of a possible twelve maximum votes on offer in the last four rounds to storm home and take the lead from second placed Luke Radonich who held a handy lead after round 12. Radonich himself received a call up in round 16 to the senior team making it impossible to hold off Evan’s charge.

The Peter Ives Player’s Player trophy was awarded to Scott Webber in a good news story of a player making the transition from rugby league in the middle of 2011. In a rare effort, Webber has worked tirelessly to learn the game to such an extent that he broke through for a senior appearance in the last round of the season. Webber also picked up the most improved award.

In a season of renewal the reserve grade awards were otherwise dominated by a new wave of young players fresh from the under 18 class of 2012 with Eddy Newman taking out the Best First Year Player, while Reece Herrick, Stew Settle, Scott Forrester and Shaun Harvey also collected awards.

The youth now available in the reserve grade squad bodes well for the Mayne Tigers in 2014.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8