Daly top Tiger in 2013

Shaun Daly capped off a remarkable debut season for the Mayne Tigers taking home the coveted Keith Beavis Club Champion Medal at the Tigers’ presentation night on Friday night. With 3 rounds to be counted it was Caleb Brown holding a slender lead before Daly charged home for a popular and much deserved win.

Recruited from the powerful Albury Tigers Football Club, the powerful centreman dominated possession despite heavy attention from taggers each and every week. Armed with the fastest hands in the league Daly recorded an incredible number of handballs and also averaged over 8 tackles per game.

After thanking his partner Steph and his coaches, team mates and supporters, Daly took the chance on stage to reflect on his move north to Brisbane and the Mayne Tigers in 2013:

“Once I accepted the offer to move to Brisbane with work I started to talk with local footy clubs. After my first conversation with Mitch (senior coach) on the phone we just sort of clicked, we had the same ideas on footy and the way it should be played…I am so sure now we made the right move coming to Mayne…the club has been terrific in helping Steph and I settle in with lots of couples at the footy each week too.”

Part of the attraction in moving to the Tigers was the chance to continue to develop his coaching skills with Daly taking over the reins on match day a number of times throughout the year. With club stalwart Mitch Ferguson now stepping aside Daly will take on the role of playing senior coach in 2014.

“I am really excited about the coaching role and know that we have a huge amount of work to do to be successful…to the playing group I can assure you that it will all be worth it…the feeling of playing in and winning grand finals lasts forever”

Daly also was awarded the Mick Nolan Players Player trophy as voted on by each member of the senior side each week.

Caleb Brown finished runner up to the club champion after a magnificent year kicking 40 goals as a centre half forward and 17 year old Henry Leung was named rookie of the year after playing 15 games in the seniors. Other award winners included Sam Paterson, Dean Hartley, Jeames Gillett, Ben McElligott and Corbin Sellen.


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup
1 Mayne 42
2 Springwood 42
3 Coorparoo 34
4 Caloundra 34
5 Beenleigh 30
6 University of Queensland 28
7 Aspley 14


2021 QFA Division 1 HART Sport Cup Reserves
1 Coorparoo 54
2 Mayne 42
3 Caloundra 38
4 Beenleigh 30
5 University of Queensland 30
6 Springwood 20
7 Aspley 10


2021 QFA Division 3
1 Jimboomba 44
2 Morningside 40
3 Sherwood Districts 40
4 Zillmere 40
5 Maroochydore 30
6 Mayne 14
7 Ormeau 12
8 Bribie Island 4


2021 QFAW Division 2 Central
1 Jindalee 50
2 Sherwood 46
3 Redland-Victoria Point 32
4 Morningside 28
5 Mt Gravatt 28
6 Mayne 22
7 Kedron 10
8 Moreton Bay 8