AFL Tasmania successfully conducted the third gala induction function of the Tasmanian Football Hall of Fame at Wrest Point Casino in Hobart Friday with the highlight of the evening being the announcement of the sixth `Icon' of Tasmanian football.

This year's Icon is Roy Cazaly.

Roy Cazaly is a name synonymous with Australian and Tasmanian football since the time that he played almost 100 years ago. He is a legendary Australian and the most successful and durable coach in Tasmanian football history.

Roy Cazaly now joins Ian Stewart and Royce Hart who were elevated in 2006 and our inaugural `Icons' Horrie Gorringe, Darrel Baldock and Peter Hudson in the Hall of Fame.

A further feature of the evening was the announcement of a further four `Legends' to be inducted into the Football Hall of Fame that will be situated at Aurora Stadium in Launceston. The four legends have made significant contributions to Tasmanian football at home and on the national scene, including:

? Players - Verdun Howell, Paul Sproule, Brent Crosswell and Paul Williams.

The players join other Legends of Tasmanian Football:

? Players - Hec Smith, Laurie Nash, Arthur Hodgson, Alastair Lynch, Terry Cashion, John Leedham, Geoff Long and Rodney Eade and the 6 `Icons'.

? Coaches - Bruce Carter, Roy Cazaly, Paddy Martin and Jack Rough.

? Umpire - Jack McMurray Junior.

? Administrator - Ian Drake.

? Media - Tim Lane.

As well as the announcement of the Icons and Legends the gala function, which was attended by 450 football luminaries and supporters of the game, recognised the following for induction:

? The third Memorable Game - The infamous North Hobart v Wynyard Tasmanian State Final of 1967.
? The third Legendary Team - Sandy Bay's team of 1971.
? The third Great Club - Burnie / Cooee Football Clubs.
? Special Category Induction - The Queenstown Gravel Oval (symbolic of West Coast football).
? Hall of Fame Inductees - No.163 (George Vautin) through to No. 188 (Scott Jeffery).

Finally, the announcement of the 6th Icon of Tasmanian football was supported by iconic Tasmanian beer producer Cascade, who have again produced a commemorative bottle featuring the career / image of Roy Cazaly. The Cascade General Manager Sales, Dominic Bury said Cascade was delighted to help honour Roy Cazaly for his incredible contribution to the development of football in the state.

"It's fitting for Cascade Draught to recognise the endurance and quality of Roy's contribution to football. Cascade Draught aims for the same qualities - integrity and endurance, having been Tasmania's favourite beer since the 1830s," said Mr Bury.

The commemorative Cascade Draught bottles will be available from Wednesday 11 July from liquor retailers around the state.

Full details of the 2007 Tasmanian Football Hall of Fame inductees are provided in the attached Media Packs.

For more information please contact:

Scott Wade - 0419 024 406

Daniel Smedley - 0418 114 414


Verdun Howell - 0417 187986
- 0417 902435

Paul Sproule - 62335946

Paul Williams - 0400 105552


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.