Allies squad announced for Championships

Eight TAC Cup players could potentially face off against their teammates in Division 1 of the upcoming NAB AFL U18 Championships after being named in the Allies team. 

The Allies team comprises 34 of the best players from Division 2 of the U18 Championships – completed last weekend – who will come together to meet Vic Country, Vic Metro, South Australia and Western Australia in Division 1. 

10 TAC Cup players were in the NSW/ACT squad that made a clean sweep of Division 2 with comprehensive victories over Tasmania, Queensland and the Northern Territory. 

The eight young guns included in the Allies squad are Murray Bushrangers Fletcher Carroll, Ryan Garthwaite, Max Lynch, Todd Marshall, Charlie Spargo and Zachary Sproule, Bendigo Pioneers midfielder Kobe Mutch and versatile Sandringham Dragons prospect Will Setterfield

Following Wednesday’s announcement of the 2016 Vic Country squad, the six interstate Murray Bushrangers could now be lining up against teammates Will Brodie and Louis Pinnuck at the U18 Champs, while Kobe Mutch may find himself facing fellow Pioneers Joseph Atley, Braidon Blake, Kane Farrell, Cooper Jones, Kayle Kirby and Lochie O’Brien. 

The Allies will kick off this year’s Division 1 U18 Championships against SA at Adelaide Oval on Saturday June 4, while Vic Country starts its campaign against WA in Perth on Sunday June 5. Vic Metro has a first-round bye.


Rams sweep Division 2 Championships

Vic Country squad announced


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.