Stats Central: Rebels turn things around

The North Ballarat Rebels are one of the form teams of the TAC Cup after recording their third consecutive victory in Round 6 following three straight losses to start the season.

Their early draw didn’t do new head coach Gerard FitzGerald (pictured) any favours, with his troops having to face current top-four teams the Geelong Falcons, Dandenong Stingrays and Murray Bushrangers in the first three rounds respectively.

North Ballarat’s subsequent games haven’t been much easier though, with wins coming against the Calder Cannons, Bendigo Pioneers and Oakleigh Chargers – all teams with good performances on the board in 2016.

Regardless of the opposition, it’s the improvement in key statistical measures from Rounds 1-3 to Rounds 4-6 that will please FitzGerald the most – an indication the Rebels are warming to his game plan.

They averaged 50 fewer disposals per game than their opponents in Rounds 1-3, but 56 more in Round 4-6. For contested possessions per game, it was 27 fewer in Rounds 1-3 but 11 more in Rounds 4-6. Clearances per game have improved from two fewer to nine more, and inside-50s per game have skyrocketed from six fewer to 22 more.

North Ballarat has been harder at the contest, winning the ball more and using it to generate a heap of scoring opportunities inside 50 – a recipe for success that will stack up against any team in the competition.


In other key stats last weekend:

9: 198cm Dandenong Stingrays bottom-ager Tom De Koning rocketed to equal-fourth on the TAC Cup goalkicking table after booting nine goals straight in his team’s big win against the Northern Knights. The Mt Martha product also assisted in another two majors and relegated poor Sam Fowler (five goals) to second billing on the score sheet.


Round 6 stats leaders:

Kade Renooy Gippsland Power 28  
Andrew McGrath Sandringham Dragons 24  
Campbell Lane Eastern Ranges 23  
Cooper Jones Bendigo Pioneers 18  
Jordan Ridley Oakleigh Chargers 18  
Kye Beveridge Sandringham Dragons 18  
Hamish Brayshaw Sandringham Dragons 18  
Corey Lyons Sandringham Dragons 17  
Connor Griffiths Western Jets 17  
Darby Henderson Bendigo Pioneers 16  
Jarrod Korewha North Ballarat Rebels 16  
Callan Wellings North Ballarat Rebels 16  
Kane Farrell Bendigo Pioneers 15  
Jamieson Sheahan Bendigo Pioneers 15  
Zach Guthrie Calder Cannons 15  
Andrew McGrath Sandringham Dragons 20  
Mitch Diamond Geelong Falcons 18  
William Donaghey Murray Bushrangers 17  
Hugh McCluggage North Ballarat Rebels 16  
Sam Simpson Geelong Falcons 16  
Max Augerinos Geelong Falcons 16  
Joseph Atley Bendigo Pioneers 15  
Josh Formosa Bendigo Pioneers 14  
Samuel Paterson Northern Knights 14  
Brandon Lester Western Jets 14  
Mason Blakey Northern Knights 13  
Lachlan Walker Oakleigh Chargers 13  
Brodie Romensky Western Jets 13  
Hayden McLean Sandringham Dragons 13  
Benjamin McNamara Geelong Falcons 13  
Campbell Lane Eastern Ranges 10  
Matthew King Oakleigh Chargers 9  
Cooper Jones Bendigo Pioneers 9  
Joshua Begley Eastern Ranges 9  
Riley Jones Oakleigh Chargers 9  
James Gow North Ballarat Rebels 8  
Hamish Brayshaw Sandringham Dragons 8  
Mitchell Lewis Calder Cannons 8  
Louis Pinnuck Murray Bushrangers 8  
Jordan Ridley Oakleigh Chargers 8  
Tom De Koning Dandenong Stingrays 8  
Kade Renooy Gippsland Power 8  
William Donaghey Murray Bushrangers 7  
Laine Fitzgerald Bendigo Pioneers 7  
Ben Ronke Calder Cannons 7  
Lloyd Meek North Ballarat Rebels 35  
Dylan Atkins Dandenong Stingrays 27  
Lachlan Filipovic Sandringham Dragons 26  
Mitchell Lewis Calder Cannons 25  
Sam Hayes Eastern Ranges 24  
Chas Roberts Northern Knights 23  
Hayden Elliot Geelong Falcons 23  
Ryan Kilpatrick Murray Bushrangers 20  
Nathan Mullenger-McHugh Eastern Ranges 19  
Matthew O'Dwyer Oakleigh Chargers 18  
Floyd Bollinghaus Murray Bushrangers 18  
Hayden McLean Sandringham Dragons 15  
Chris Lawton Calder Cannons 15  
Joel Grace Northern Knights 15  
Zac Norris Bendigo Pioneers 15  
    Goals Total
Karl Brown Calder Cannons 6 24
Sam Fowler Dandenong Stingrays 5 22
Brett Blair Geelong Falcons 1 20
Joshua Begley Eastern Ranges 5 14
Tom De Koning Dandenong Stingrays 9 14
Jackson McLachlan Geelong Falcons 3 13
Dan Allsop Dandenong Stingrays 3 13
Kayle Kirby Bendigo Pioneers 3 12
Hayden McLean Sandringham Dragons 2 11
Jack Henry Geelong Falcons 3 11


Related content:

Round 5 Stats Central: Big bag for Brown


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.