Season Preview: Port Melbourne

2011 Best & Fairest Award Winner: Sam Pleming

2011 Leading Goal Kickers: Patrick Rose – 79 goals, Dean Galea – 71 goals, Christopher Cain – 37 goals

Peter Jackson VFL Team of the Year 2011: Jarrod Dalton, Hugh Sandilands, Sam Pleming, Sam Dwyer, Patrick Rose, Chris Cain

2011 Draftee’s: Malcolm Lynch – North Melbourne

Finished 2011 Season: 1st (18 wins – 0 losses) 

2012 Coach: Gary Ayres (5th year)



Clayton Hinkley - Fremantle 


Ryan Gale – Northern Blues, Clinton Benjamin – North Ballarat Roosters



Doug Morris – Northern Knights, Adrian Francellu – Oakleigh Chargers, James Breust – Oakleigh Chargers, Sebastian Purcell – Oakleigh Chargers, Tyler Stack – Geelong Falcons, Jason Williams – Calder Cannons, Sebastian Evans – Oakleigh Chargers, Damian Mascitti (Oakleigh Chargers), Mitchell Woffindin (Oakleigh Chargers),


Jake Sutcliffe – Sturt, John McKenzie – Tassie Marines 


Stefan Denadic (Blackburn), Callan Thorton (Xavier), Doug Morris (Northern), Adam Ballard (Prahran), Dean Grice (Boronia)


Jarrod Dalton(Vermont), David Fanning(Aberfeldie), Ryan McGrath, Cory McGrath(retired), Nathan Batsanis (Norwood), Ryan McMahon (Balwyn), Jake Edwards, Patrick Rose(Wodonga), Callum Sinclair, Tim Martin, Mitch Keddell, Fabian De Luca, Daniel Keely and Jason Burge.

Practice Matches:

Casey Scorpions 6.5.41 def Port Melbourne 2.6.18

Port Melbourne 16.14.110 def Frankston 9.6.60

Sandringham Zebras 24.8.152 def Port Melbourne 20.9.129

2012 another record breaking year?

Port Melbourne are just a few wins away from breaking the competitions record for current clubs of the longest winning streak. The record currently stands with the Northern Blues who over 1984 and 1985 won 23 games in a row as the Preston Bullants.

Port meet Frankston in Round 1 this weekend on Sunday 25th March at Frankston Oval. The 2011 wooden spooners will put up a strong fight, but Port Melbourne should account for the developing team. Round 2 holds a tougher opponent in Werribee who are going from strength to strength. When they met last year, Port came out of the Round 10 encounter with a 19 point win.

If they are still striving for the record, their following and final challenger is Bendigo on Saturday 7th April at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Port Melbourne will remain a tough Club to beat in 2012; however, they have lost several key players from their Premiership side which should in turn hamper their stronghold over the competition. Players such as Shane Valenti, John Baird, Sam Pleming, Dean Galea and Toby Pinwill will have to lead the team by example and execute some top performances this Season. 

Coach’s Comment:

With some 800 games of VFL experience left we are relying on our senior core of premiership players left and the return of long term injured players such as Bentick, Bonaddio, Tom Johnston and Myles Pitt plus a rapid improvement rate from some of our 2nd and 3rd year players. With youth it always has its inconsistencies in form and performance.

Our preparation has been disjointed with ground issues and players unavailability due to injuries but things are starting to improve and we feel like our form has improved over the practice match games.

The ability to defend the 2011 premiership will be based on winning enough games to make the finals then to play off in the Grand Final. You need luck and a very good run with injury and things coming together at the appropriate time

– Gary Ayres

Click the document below for the 2012 Port Melbourne list:



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.