Kitto, Cummins & Rajcic - Best for 2015

West Torrens Birkalla’s Ryan Kitto was awarded the prestigious Sergio Melta Medal – PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia Player of the Year award on Saturday night at the 2015 Celebration of Football.

The awards evening recognised the highest achievers of the 2015 season at the Adelaide Entertainment Centre, in front of a crowd of 646 guests.

Kitto polled 30 votes in total, 5 ahead of second placed Rocky Visconte from Croydon Kings who took home the title in 2014.

Adelaide Blue Eagles’ Kym Harris found third place with 24 votes, fellow team mate Alemayo Kebede came in fourth on 22 while Adelaide City’s Nicholas Bucco finished with 20.

West Torrens Birkalla enjoyed a successful evening with Head Coach Steve De Giovanniello awarded the Martyn Crook PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia Coach of the Year and Goal Keeper Julian Torresan taking home the Peter Nikolich PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia Goal Keeper of the Year award. Birkalla’s Luke Uzzell also won the John Francis PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia Under 18 Player of the Year.

The PlayStation 4 National Premier League South Australia Team of the Year was presented, claiming a place in the 11 for 2015 were: Julian Torresan (West Torrens Birkalla), Ryan Kitto (West Torrens Birkalla), Scott Nagel (West Torrens Birkalla), Kym Harris (Adelaide Blue Eagles), Nicholas Bucco (Adelaide City), Matthew Halliday (Adelaide City), Rocky Visconte (Croydon Kings), Ricardo Da Silva (West Adelaide), Robby Lippett (West Adelaide), Michael Mattricianni (Campbelltown City), Iain Fyfe (Campbelltown City).

Michael Matricciani was handed the Golden Boot for 2015 due to his 22 goals in the 26 game season while Para Hills Knights Bailey Truscott took home the John Aloisi Rising Star.

Elvis Kamsoba of Raiders was awarded the Marcellina Player of the Year after the highest culmination of Senior Coach votes through out the season.

Cumberland United celebrated the evening with Jace Cummins announced as the Bob Telfer NPL State League Player of the Year and Seniors Coach Billy Graves awarded the NPL State League Coach of the Year.

Cummins, a clear standout, polled 43 total votes, taking maximum votes 11 times through out the season.

Matthew Pelizzari from Adelaide Olympic was given the nod for the Les Avory NPL State League Goal Keeper of the Year while Doni Pollock from Adelaide United was awarded the Milan Ivanovic NPL State League Golden Boot.

Metro United Women’s Football Club (MUWFC) player Marijana Rajcic was awarded the Shirley Brown Women’s Premier League Player of the Year as well as the Women’s Premier League Golden Boot for her efforts in the 2015 season.

‘MJ’ polled 27 votes throughout the season, putting the icing on the cake for the Westfield W-League Lady Reds player. The MUWFC side won the Women’s Premier League Cup and League title this season, in their 10th anniversary year as a club no less.

Jonathan Ruse was awarded the Bob Bush Women’s Premier League Coach of the Year after leading the Football Federation SA Under 14/15’s this season and Sarah Willacy from Adelaide City claimed the Women’s Premier League Goal Keeper of the Year.

Daniel Cook was named the Mick O’Malley Young Referee of the Year while Daniel Elder was awarded the Paul Ingham Referee of the Year.

Long standing Adelaide City volunteer Joe Camilleri was given his moment in the spotlight when awarded the Volunteer of the Year for his outstanding 30+ years of commitment to the club and sport while Uni SA coach Inno Muluji took home the Community Coach of the Year award.

Two inductees in to the South Australia Hall of Fame were named with both Rudi Alagich and Airliee Keen being rewarded for their years of service in football, entering the Hall of Fame as members for Outstanding Contribution.

Football Federation SA congratulates all winners from the evening’s event as well as all involved in the 2015 season.

2015 Award Winners


Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.