BFPNG Announces National Squads for FIBA Melanesia Basketball Cup

The Basketball Federation of Papua New Guinea (BFPNG) has announced its senior national squads that will commence preparations for the FIBA Melanesia Basketball Cup that is being held in Port Moresby this September.

A 23-player women’s squad and 25-player men’s squad were named on Saturday night, both groups including athletes based in-country and overseas.

The women’s roster is headlined by 2015 Pacific Games standouts Betty Angula, Marca Muri and Mary Elavo Jnr, while 2016 PNG under 18 national team captain Normalisa Dobunaba, also received a call-up to the senior level.

The men’s assembly includes Wright brothers Liam & Lloyd, Australian-based players Marty Leahy & Aron Farmer, along with outstanding local talents Apia Muri, Sibona Kala and Gabriel Elavo. Joe Elavo earned a recall to the national squad following his performance in the national championships, while 16-year old rising star Coni Muri was also named in the group.

Both squads feature a presence of athletes based outside of Port Moresby, with eight players identified from Lae, three from Kavieng and one from Daru.

Squad members based in Port Moresby will commence training sessions next week, before a final selection camp will be held over a weekend in August. At this final selection camp, players based regionally and overseas will travel to the nation’s capital, joining the Port Moresby contingent in vying for one of the twelve available positions in the final teams that will compete in the FIBA Melanesia Cup from September 27 to 30.

2017 BFPNG Women’s National Squad: 


Betty Wong

Elina Yala

Lydia Gotuno

Quinea Komane


Emily Koivi

Marrina Boino

Mary Elavo Jnr.

Normalisa Dobunaba

Rosa Kairi

Mary Cindy Elavo 


Betty Angula

Svetlana Rupa

Marca Muri

Nester Sape


Erica Amos

Josie Sam

Serah Yawasing

Vhasty Jamsop

Vivian Gawac 


Gimai Kebei 


Vanessa Torea


Megan Green

Penninah Javapro

Head Coach:                           Moi Muri

First Assistant Coach:             Eddie Salazar

Second Assistant Coach:       Janet Vekwari

Team Manager:                       Lewa Hani

Assistant Team Manager:       Martha Aaron


2017 BFPNG Men’s National Squad:


Anderson Hewe

Coni Muri


Apia Muri

Charles Parapa

Gabriel Elavo

Greg Travertz

Moses Lune

Purari Muri

Robert Kave

Sibona Kala 


Dia Muri

Emmanuel Parapa

James Banduru

Joe Elavo

Obert Muri 


Paiwa Baldwin


Liam Wright

Lloyd Wright


Manasseh Moere

Ryan Tetemo

Russell Stafford


Aron Farmer

Christian Pang

Illiwa Baldwin

Marty Leahy

Head Coach:                           Joel Khalu

First Assistant Coach:           Boyet Daroya

Second Assistant Coach:       Patrick Ani

Third Assistant Coach:           Morris Asiba

Team Manager:                       Dixon Omaro



Comment Guidelines: The SportsTG Network is made up of players, families and passionate sports followers like you who have a strong opinion about sport. That's great - we want you to have your say and share your thoughts with the world. However, we have a few rules that you must follow to keep it fun for all. Please don't be rude, abusive, swear or vilify others. Apart from some pretty serious sport sanctions, we also can ban you and report you if things get out of hand. So play fair and have fun, and thanks for your contribution.