John Spooner Trophy

The John Spooner Trophy is awarded each year to the Association with the most minor round wins in division 1 competition in the SA Country Junior Country Championships.

The award is named to recognise the significant contribution over many years of John Spooner to SA Country Basketball.

John was the inaugural manager of an SA Country State team and was part of the committee who established SA Country.

To this day, John continues to assist SA Country with a trial game between his SA Defence basketball team and SA Country U18 Mens Nationals team as part of their lead up to the National Championships as well as assisting in the organisation of special events such as our 40th Anniversary celebration.

Past winners
If you can assist us to complete the information below please contact

Year Winner Year Winner
1993 Sunraysia 1994 Mildura
1995 Eastern Hills & Mildura  1996 Eastern Hills
1997 Eastern Hills 1998 Eastern Hills
1999 Mildura 2000 Mildura 
2001 Broken Hill, Whyalla & Mildura 2002 Mildura
2003 Mildura 2004 Port Pirie 
2005 Millicent 2006 Millicent
2007 Murray Bridge 2008 Port Augusta
2009 Mount Gambier 2010 Murray Bridge
2011 Mount Gambier 2012 Mount Gambier
2013 Great Southern  2014 Great Southern                      
2015 Mount Gambier 2016 Mount Gambier 
2017 Mount Gambier 2018 Mount Gambier
2019 Mildura    

Major Sponsor

Basketball Australia News

Association Links - Navbar