Willetton Basketball Association takes tremendous pride in the achievements of its players, referees, coaches and volunteers. Below is a list of accomplishments achieved by teams and people who have been associated with Willetton, whether it be Juniors, WABL, SBL, NBL1, refereeing, coaching and volunteering.

Representative Teams:

SBL Champions – Women’s Willetton Tigers

Most Successful WSBL team in the league: the only team to have won three years in a row (a “three-peat” in 2009, 2010, 2011), and have won the most SBL finals in WSBL history.

Gillam Trophy (awarded for excellence in the WA Basketball League (WABL))

Won by Willetton Tigers 10 of the last 17 years

1998 / 1999 / 2000 / 2015 / 2016 / 2017 / 2018 / 2019

Achievements by COACHES

Alan Black 2000, 1996

World Championships
Alan Black 1998

Alan Black, Craig Friday, Leigh Gooding, Dale Waters, Shayne Hampel, Narell Black, Dale Waters

Alan Black 2014, 2013, 2011, 2009, 2006
Glenn Clarke 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009 
Simon Parker 2014, 2013
Craig Reynolds 2014
Gary Cleeland 2014



Referees: National
Peter Houghton, Daniel Coffey

Statisticians: National and State
Marcus Langshaw (Basketball Australia),
WA Department of Sport & Recreation Basketball Official of the Year

Achievements by PLAYERS

Tully Bevilaqua, Rohanee Cox

Stephen Black

NBL (from Willetton’s junior program)
Kyle Armour, Stephen Black, Adam Caporn, Rob Cassir, Daniel Johnson, Trevor Torrance, Cameron Tovey, Nic Cody

WNBL (from Willetton’s junior program)
Kylie Aggiss, Liz Bailey, Lauren Biddle, Rohanee Cox, Rebecca Duke, Sue Friday, Jasmine Hooper, Tanya Kelly, Melissa Marsh, Kate Malpass, Melissa Moyle, Dani Ramsay, Deanne Ranford, Ebony Antonio, Mikayla Pirini, Hayley Winter, Emily Counsel.

BWA Annual Awards

Volunteer of the year

2015 Marcus Langshaw

2012 Marcus Langshaw

2011 Jackie Keepa

2010 Rosemary Nixon

BWA Annual Awards (cont.)

Most Valuable Male Player
1999 Matt Foster (only the second non-restricted player to win Leader in Rebounds, and the first Australian player in BWA history to win MVP)
1990 Jeff Anderson 
1989 Jeff Anderson & Pete Hansen
Note: Jeff Anderson MVP winner 4 times 1986 (Swan Districts) 1984 (Tangney Tigers)
1982 Brad Gray (Tangney Tigers)

Most Valuable Female Player
2005 Rohanee Cox

2001, 2000 Megan Clarke
1981 Kerry Clarke (Tangney Tigers)

All Star Team - Men
1999 Sam Fotu

1990 Jeff Anderson, Alan Black, Abraham Okorodudu

All Star Team - Women

2019 (Defensive) Desiree Kelley, Emma Gandini
2015 Kate Malpass, Louella Tomlinson

2012 Jasmine Hooper
2011 Jasmine Hooper, Kate Malpass
2009 Kate Malpass, Ashley Gilmore
2002, 2001, 2000 Megan Clarke
1990 Jenny Beha, Kathy McDonald

Female WABL player of the year

2019 Shenae Hartree

2018 Imogen Ayliffe

2003 Kate Malpass

2002 Rebecca Duke

Male WABL player of the Year

2019 Tom Gerovich

Most Improved Male Player
2004 Cameron Tovey

Most Improved Female Player
2010 Jasmine Hooper
2009 Courtney Hargreaves
1998 Rohanee Cox

Rookie of the year

1998 Rohanee Cox

Referee of the Year

2018 Connor Foy
2009, 2003, 2002 Peter Houghton,

Statistician of the Year

2000/2002/  Marcus Langshaw

2010 Paul Cicarelli

2009 Marcus Langshaw

Scoretable Official of the Year

2015, Nola Priestly 2013 Pam Langshaw

BWA’s MSBL 25th Year All Star Team
Jeff Anderson, Shamus Ballantyne

BWA’s WSBL 25th Year All Star Team
Tully Bevalaqua, Tanya Kelly, Melissa Marsh

High Performance & WABL Coach of the Year

2019 Michael Winter

2018 Robyn Winter


Updated 27/5/21